Egypt Has It’s Eye On The World Championship For The Fourth Time

Egypt will seek to win the World Squash Championship for men’s teams for the fourth time in its history when it organizes the tournament for the fourth time in the period between December 12-18 next at the Al-Ahly Club stadiums in the island .

The tournament was supposed to be organized in Kuwait, but the suspension of Kuwait’s membership in the International Olympic Committee called on the International Squash Federation to grant Egypt the organization of the tournament, and this will be the fourth time for it to organize this great event.

Egypt won the tournament for the first time when it organized it for the last time in 1999 with a team consisting of Ahmed Barrada, Amr Shabana, Amir Wajih and Omar Al-Burlusi, and in 2009 with a team consisting of Karim Darwish, Amr Shabana, Rami Ashour and Wael Al-Hindi, then in 2011 with a team of Ramy Ashour, Karim Darwish, Muhammad Al-Shorbaji and Hisham Ashour.

England is the holder of the tournament title after it denied Egypt from winning it for the third time in a row and defeated it in the final of the 2013 tournament in France , and it will seek to win this year’s edition to equal Pakistan’s record and win the sixth tournament in history, behind Australia who won the title more than 8 times, ahead of Egypt, which She won it three times.

The Australian national team will participate in the tournament, as well as the teams of Pakistan and England , while the participation of Qatar and Iraq will be the first for the two countries in the tournament.

This year’s edition of the championship is attended by 23 different countries: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Canada, Colombia, England, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Iraq, Korea, Kuwait, Malaysia, Mexico, Pakistan, Qatar, Scotland, South Africa, Switzerland and the United States, in addition to the organizing country Egypt.