All squads announced for 2023 WSF Men’s World Team Championship

The final squads have been announced for the 2023 WSF Men’s World Team Championship, which is taking place in Tauranga, New Zealand, 11-17 December.

A total of 24 teams will compete in the biennial championship, with Cook Islands, Philippines, Samoa and Tahiti set to make their event debuts.

As expected, defending champions Egypt have selected a star-studded lineup, with World No.1 Ali Farag – a two-time World Team Champion and four-time Individual World Champion – joined by former World No.1 and current World No.3 Mostafa Asal, World No.7 Mazen Hesham and World No.12 Youssef Soliman.

Hosts New Zealand, meanwhile, will be led by former World No.1 and current World No.4 Paul Coll, supported by brothers Lwamba and Temwa Chileshe, and Elijah Thomas.

Australia, the most successful side in event history with eight titles, name four debutants in Nick Calvert, Rhys Dowling, Dylan Molinaro and Joseph White as they seek to upset the odds and win a first title in 20 years.

With Egypt expected to be top seeds when the tournament seedings are announced later this week, England and France have named strong sides that look the most likely to challenge the defending champions.

Five-time winners England, beaten finalists in 2019, will be represented by former World No.1 Mohamed ElShorbagy, his brother and World No.8 Marwan ElShorbagy, World No.25 Patrick Rooney and World No.31 Adrian Waller.

France, meanwhile, will call upon a well-balanced team of World No.11 Victor Crouin, World No.15 Baptiste Masotti, World No.26 Auguste Dussourd and World No.30 Gregoire Marche.

For the latest news from the 2023 WSF Men’s World Team Championship, head to the official tournament website or follow the World Squash Federation on FacebookInstagramThreads and X (formerly Twitter).

Watch free squash action, interviews and features for free at WORLDSQUASH.TV.

Squads: 2023 WSF Men’s World Team Championship

AustraliaJoseph White, Rhys Dowling, Dylan Molinaro, Nick Calvert
CanadaDavid Baillargeon, Salah Eltorgman, Brett Schille, Liam Marrison
Cook IslandsDylan Russell, Brian Tapurau, Joshua Simeon, Manu Priest
CzechiaMartin Svec, Viktor Byrtus, Daniel Mekbib, Jakub Solnicky
EgyptAli Farag, Mostafa Asal, Mazen Hesham, Youssef Soliman
EnglandMohamed ElShorbagy, Marwan ElShorbagy, Patrick Rooney, Adrian Waller
FranceVictor Crouin, Gregoire Marche, Auguste Dussourd, Baptiste Masotti
GermanyRaphael Kandra, Simon Rösner, Yannick Omlor, Valentin Rapp,
Hong Kong, ChinaTsz Kwan Lau, Henry Leung, Ming Hong Tang, Chi Him Wong
IrelandSam Buckley, Sean Conroy, Oisin Logan, Michael Creaven
JapanShota Yasunari, Yujin Ikeda, Yuta Ando, Naoki Sone
MalaysiaAddeen Idrakie, Sanjay Jeeva, Ameeshenraj Chandaran, Hafiz Zhafri
NetherlandsRowan Damming, Thijs Roukens, Sam Gerrits, Hjalmer Mols
New Zealand Paul Coll, Lwamba Chileshe, Temwa Chileshe,, Elijah Thomas
NigeriaOnaopemipo Adegoke, Babatunde Ajagbe, Gabriel Olufunmilayo, Kehinde Samuel
PhilippinesRobert Garcia, David Pelino, Reymark Begornia, Jonathan Reyes
Republic of KoreaDongjun Lee, Dongmin Lee, Hyeonbeom Kang, Donghyun Ji
SamoaLeo Apa Fatialofa, Onesemo Old, Donald Marfleet
ScotlandGreg Lobban, Rory Stewart, Alasdair Prott, Alan Clyne
South AfricaDewald van Niekerk, Jean-Pierre Brits, Tristen Worth, Damian Groenewald
SwitzerlandNicolas Mueller, Dimitri Steinmann, Robin Gadola, Yannick Wilhelmi
TahitiLaurent Loudier, Kevin Pons, Adrien Maury, Kamal Soussi
USATimmy Brownell, Shahjahan Khan, Andrew Douglas, Spencer Lovejoy
WalesJoel Makin, Emyr Evans, Owain Taylor, Elliot Morris

Other Related Blog Posts